Fury – A Clockpunk Screenplay

Joseph Francis, one of the readers of Da Vinci Automata left a comment about a screenplay that he had written some time on what seems to be a Clockpunk story. We thought that it deserved mention on the main page, so with his permission, here the description.

Back in 1995 I wrote a screenplay called “Fury” which was based in the Rennaissance.

The Ottoman ambassador is murdered during peace treaty negotiations with the Venetians.

Not wishing a war to escalate, The venetians engage their best agent, A Renaissance-era superspy, equipped with the latest fifteenth century high tech espionage gear courtesy of a young Leonardo da Vinci, and task him with solving the murder.

The story escalates and we come to learn that the villain is an angry Byzantine who has stumbled across germ theory and realizes he can retake Contantinople by flooding it with plague rats.

Post 9/11 I rewrote it to deemphazise the Ottoman/Venetian conflict and made the villain the worlds first mafia don, a man who is inventing the concept of organized crime. The story in this version escalates when he discovers an ancient chinese magnetically powered rail gun called “The Horn of the Ram” that smashed the walls of Jericho (mistranslated in the bible as Joshua blew the ram’s horn and the walls fell)

The hero is still my Renaissance-era ‘James Bond’ figure, although in the later version I introduce Lucrezia Borgia as the villain’s “moll.” I also have Machiavelli as the leader of the Ten of War, who fulfills a role loosely similar to “M” in the Bond franchise.

I’ve kept this material to myself (other than shopping it around Hollywood) for years, but now that I see it is entering the public conciousness more I see no further reason not to talk about it.

3 Responses to “Fury – A Clockpunk Screenplay”


  1. 1 Gallery of Art July 12, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    I like your post! Congrats for your site! It´s help-me so much!

  2. 2 Joseph Francis July 3, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I have an update:

    I’ve posted the screenplay. It’s available on pdf format to anyone who might be interested.

    http://www.digitalartform.com/archives/2009/07/fury_of_the_ill.html

    Thank you

  3. 3 Joseph Francis September 14, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    …and I understand the Assassin’s Creed II videogame now picks up on the idea of casting da Vinci as a sort of James Bond ‘Q’ as well.

    http://www.pushsquare.com/5375/leonardo-da-vinci-to-act-as-a-q-in-assassins-creed-ii/


Leave a comment




March 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 478,850 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Knowing and Doing

This site is licensed under the Creative Commons License Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported



“I have been impressed with the urgency of doing. Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Being willing is not enough; we must do.” - Leonardo Da Vinci