Wooden Robots!

fujinraijin.jpg

Via Wired Blog Network) Someone in Japan has the excellent idea of making wooden robots, the result is just amazing. The website is in Japanese but even if you cannot read Japanese the eyecandy on the website is good enough that its worth a visit. Here is the URL:

http://take-g.com/crafts/big.html

9 Responses to “Wooden Robots!”


  1. 1 puddlehead June 24, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    I love the wooden robots. Supercool stuff. I tinker with woodworking, my dad’s a woodcarver, and the cuts they’re using look like topshelf stuff, too. The walnut is gorgeous, especially on the larger ones. Combine that with the craftmanship, and I bet those bots are pricey. Any idea how much they run?

    Also, just because I’m curious and like to know new stuff, what is clockpunk?

  2. 3 sean (connery) June 25, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    and it looks like the robots are just one-offs, not for sale. or at least, not yet. the ‘store’ section has a set of wooden erector set-ish blocks and a flat animal cutout ‘zoo’, but no robots.

    sadly.

  3. 4 Da Vinci Automata June 26, 2007 at 8:50 am

    That is correct Seam I noticed that but I thought that they may have more information regarding the robots and perhaps even some way to get the robots but the site is mostly in Japanese and I do not know Japanese.

  4. 5 puddlehead June 27, 2007 at 8:14 am

    Thanks for the link Sean (Connery). That is cool stuff.

  5. 6 Fabián. July 28, 2008 at 2:16 am

    I think they are just figures of robots, not actual robots.. 😦

    But speaking of japanese stuff, you may want to search for “karakuri”. Maybe you know them already, but just in case. 🙂

    An I do know there are building kits for karakuri mechanisms out there.

    Saludos!

  6. 7 option bot 2.0 March 14, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    I don’t even know how I stopped up here, but I assumed this publish was good.

    I don’t realize who you are however certainly you are going to a famous blogger in the event you aren’t already.

    Cheers!

  7. 8 chair February 11, 2019 at 10:48 am

    I used to be suggested this web site by means of my cousin. I am now not certain whether
    this submit is written by him as nobody else know such distinctive about my trouble.

    You’re incredible! Thanks!


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on June 25, 2007 at 6:00 pm

Leave a comment




June 2007
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 478,850 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Knowing and Doing

This site is licensed under the Creative Commons License Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported



“I have been impressed with the urgency of doing. Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Being willing is not enough; we must do.” - Leonardo Da Vinci